Home Buying Journey Towards Lumina Butuan

August 10, 2021

I am one-track-minded, and only Lumina Butuan captivates me.

Investing in a permanent home in a reputable neighborhood was one of the most important decisions I made in my life. This investment was definitive; well, after careful discernment, this decision should be void of any hesitation. This decision can be likened to my willfulness to marry my wife back in the day. Then came this invitation to invest in Lumina Butuan because of its location, quality, and designs of houses. I considered its affordability as well, and this was a good decision that I shouldn’t have second thoughts. Lumina Homes in Butuan is a tranquil, safe, and ideal place for residence. It could make you feel prouder as a husband and father to have raised a family in such an environment.

Flashback: What transpired a decade ago.

Quite often, I traversed the Malaybalay-CDO-Butuan route. I have numerous friends hailing from these three Northern Mindanao megacities. My friendships with many of them dated back to when we burned midnight candles as university students in Cebu. Of the three, it is in Butuan that I have more friends and acquaintances.

Then we arrived at our parting time as we completed our university degrees. The next challenge was to pass our board exams. Some signed up in review centers in Manila, others in Cebu, and many opted to take review classes in their respective hometowns. We still tried to communicate; social media was inconceivable at that time, but we didn’t find reconnecting difficult. We lost track of the others. I heard that some of them landed on careers and found the love of their lives in Cebu; others were unable to take the board exams, others opted to work abroad, others taught in schools; still, others contemplated on establishing their own engineering firms. I was one of the many who chose to be employed in an established firm. My work scheme enabled me to hop from one project to another as I juggled responsibilities both as an executive and technical man in the company’s expansion programs.

Months later, I got this assignment to take the lead in one engineering program in Butuan. I wasn’t very enthusiastic at first. I’d be away from the comforts of living in cool Bukidnon. I’d be detailed on a seemingly long-term assignment. Thus, I would need thorough physical and emotional preparations. Yes, it’s true that stress, struggles for approval and acceptance, plans for career advancements, and the possibility of meeting the woman I would be serious with and establish a beautiful family, all these thoughts intertwined in my mind.

Homesickness, when I was beset by it, I’d find time to go home. While traveling, I’d console myself by looking instead at the pleasures and peculiarities of all the places I’d pass:

  • The misty weather and rollercoaster-like Bukidnon trip.
  • The casual barbecue nights around CDO’s Cogon Market.
  • The array of seafood choices along with Magsaysay’s restaurants on stilts.
  • Gingoog’s famous pasalubong.

Then again, I’d be back to my reality, my laidback living in Butuan.

Then I was introduced to this pleasant woman. She’s in the teaching field. I was drawn to her because of her lady-like, cheerful, conversant, and modest dispositions. She was the type of woman my Mom and Dad would approve of. She was the epitome of that significant other you wanted to “grow old” with. I married her; then, we were blessed with a boy and a girl.

Fast forward: a decade after. I requested a site-tour of Lumina Homes Butuan and was referred to a direct seller and advisor named Paco. We set the time and place. My wife excitedly counted the days and exclaimed that “we were about to realize our dream house”. Thus one Thursday afternoon, from the Lumina head office in downtown Butuan, we headed towards the eastern part, crossed Magsaysay bridge, and drove to a busy suburb called Amazon. We were informed that Lumina Butuan is just a kilometer away. The place is called Barangay Taguibo.

Once in there, we were mesmerized. We imbibed that certain positive feeling within us. We began sightseeing by meticulously inspecting Angeli Townhouse model units at Phase I. Angeli units come in three variations. Angeli Inner Unit, Angeli End Unit, and the Angeli Single Firewall. Our attention was immediately drawn to the Single Firewall units because owners will have the option to expand. Phase 1 of Lumina Butuan includes three communal amenities: a covered basketball court, a children’s playground, and a multi-purpose hall. Phase 1 of Lumina Butuan measures 10.5 hectares and featured 1,066 units of Angeli Townhouse, Angeli Single Firewall, and Aimee model units. Aimee Home Model, is a 22sqm. bungalow house that is placed normally in a 36sqm. lot, the most affordable house and lot worth 500k.

We then proceeded to Phase 2 of Lumina Butuan, which is estimated at 4.2 hectares and will feature 655 Aimee Rowhouse units.

Meanwhile, Lumina Butuan Phase 3, which is 7 hectares, will feature 919 units in mixtures of single, duplex, and rowhouse units:

  • Angeli Townhouse is a 42 square meter home on a 36 square meter lot for inner units and bigger lot cuts for end units. Its features include a living area, dining & kitchen, 3 bedroom provision, 1 toilet & bath, 1 carport provision, and service area.
  • Angeli Single Firewall is a 42 square meter home on a regular 54 square meter lot. Its features include a living area, dining & kitchen, 3 bedroom provision, 1 toilet & bath, 1 carport provision, and service area.
  • Angeli Duplex has similar features with Angeli Single Firewall, except that this unit shares a wall with the adjacent unit.
  • Anna Rowhouse is a 24 square meter home on a regular 36 square meter lot. Its features include a living area, dining & kitchen, 1 bedroom provision, 1 toilet & bath, and service area.

The Decision

Having a one-track mind has its plus factors. Almost immediately, I persuaded my wife that a verdict has to be made. We informed the children. Without any hesitation and argument, we arrived at a consensus. For better living, for our physical and emotional well-being, for sound mental health, IT MUST BE LUMINA…there is no other. And today, our next journey is headed towards investment. Having a primary home accomplished, we wish to take the next level of turning real estate into a passive income.

We are now proud owners of an Angeli End-Unit Model townhouse. We are now dynamic community members of the Lumina Homes- Butuan community. Happy Kabarangay in Lumina Butuan!

Leave a comment