ADULTING in my Lumina Home

August 20, 2021

After moving into my newly acquired Angeli Single Firewall unit in Lumina Butuan, a friend asked me a startling question, “Was it a good investment?” It was startling for a moment because I never really had the chance to self-assess whether I lived more comfortably after this venture. I began comparing my way of life, meaning the previous one where I rented an apartment, and now that I’m owning a Lumina unit.

I’m Lizette, an ambitious yuppie, and I’m in my late 20’s. Categorically, I’m a Gen Y cohort, more technically referred to as “millennials.” Our eyes were opened to a generation enjoying the more improved quality of living. Born to better educated Boomers, our generation is the advent of still unsophisticated camera phones, laser black and white printers, and HBO and Cinemax cable TV channels.

I’m single. I rented an apartment, all to prove that I’m a free spirit. I drive a simple second hand car. Being young and carefree, my friends and I were habitués of our favorite watering holes. We frequented aesthetic saloons for our eyebrows, hair tints, and regular facials. We almost had it all, except for a place we could call our own.

Being millennial carries so many connotations. I must be forward looking. I must be surrounded by a reliable network of associates. I must be equipped with technical and technological know-how. I must be financially viable. Ah, so much of hard-to-follow, hard-to-sustain societal dictates. They bring extreme pressures.

Modesty aside, life is fair enough for me. After completing my degree, I landed a junior executive post in a prestigious company. It’s true, and I experienced struggles adjusting to my new role as a very young employee and team player, vis-à-vis my desires to be a good daughter, sister, auntie, and a servant of the Lord. The competition was there, so were intrigued and the natural thirsts for approval and attention. I always told myself, “I won’t allow myself to be consumed by negativities. I’ll uphold all the org’s best practices and strive to be a company’s strong asset”. I promised myself, “I will call this endeavor Goal 30. I should have been financially independent and have lived in my own house by 30″.

Came the opportunity to invest in a major way, my own home, and Lumina Homes Butuan hopped in the way.

The concept that I’m “adulting” sends me thrills and excitement. After all, who doesn’t? Its process, however, is uphill, gruesome, and bittersweet. I’m “adulting,” and yes, I’m relatively young and a little fragile. I need to behave in ways characteristic of responsible adults, especially in accomplishing mundane but necessary tasks. I had doubts and fears with resettling. It might be unattainable, but Lumina eased everything.

THE STEPS.

First is exploring the factors before investing in real estate. My friend’s startling question brought me back to the initial steps I took before I got my Lumina unit. I first posted a reservation fee for assurance that I’d be on the priority list. Coming up with quite a huge amount as downpayment was a struggle and the difficult part. I processed loan assistance from my Pag-IBIG Fund contributions. Fortunately, my application was approved. Further, I had a decent amount of savings in the bank, and I streamlined my expenditures on this and that, then finally I sought friendly loans from my Mom and Dad. Presto!!! I complied with the second step. The work processes for the interiors were underway till such time that I could legitimately shift. Now I’m benefiting from the lighter side of a decision I once had fears and doubts about. My only concern is my monthly amortization. In all honesty, IT WAS WORTH THE GAMBLE.

How has “adulting” with Lumina shaped my lifestyle? Well, it really put my priorities in perspective. At first glance, life was smoother when I simply rented an apartment. My main concern was to comply with my monthly rental; that was it! I didn’t have to think about house maintenance and enhancements, and it wasn’t mine after all. Arriving home after office meant that I had to slouch on my sofa, nibble on my favorite party crackers while I’d be glued to my TV set. Now, I realigned my spending habits because I have monthly amortization to comply with. Terms like cost-cutting, prioritizations, separating essentials from non-essentials suddenly became staple concepts in my vocabulary since house maintenance, expansion, and beautification are now the priorities. Weekends are spent on supervising my household as she does the housecleaning, laundry, and the purchase of goods.

I host sleepovers, ‘pajama parties, and Netflix telethons with my single female friends on Saturday nights. Barbecues are held at the empty space behind my unit. We don’t have to be up very early the following day because there is a series of church services in Ampayon we can choose from. After church, we still plunge in the pool or play badminton in the covered court. After lunch, it’s bye-bye time, anticipating the enjoyment the following weekend may bring.

I’m addressing this not only to the Gen Y’s but also to the generation that comes after us. When the going gets tough, and we are beset with so many pressures, one best remedy is to reinvigorate in a home we genuinely own. As we say, “strike while the iron is hot”; while still young and able, we act ahead and invest in owning a Lumina Home. It’s worthwhile.

Leave a comment